editing variables in classes, need help!

Hi, I have a class inside of a header file with a bunch of public variables. I can access and use these no problem at all I can modify them too (great!). My problem is when I access the class and modify a variables value when I access the class later on from another function , then the second time I access the class its obtaining its default values.

Is there a way that when I modify a class's public variable from any function, it just maintains the value its assigned from the function that set it before?

This is my first time using classes so I expect I am doing something wrong.

class test
{
public:
	bool testbool1 = false;
	bool testbool2 = false;
	int testint = 1;
};

Last edited on
If you pass an object to a function by value, you will be creating a copy of the object, so your original values in the original object won't be changed.

If you want to alter the original object's variable's values, you should pass it by reference.

ADDED: the '&' symbol will pass the object by reference. Without it, the object will be passed by value.

example:
void my_function(class_name &object_name)
{
        //change value here
}
Last edited on
Thanks for the fast reply!

Currently I am accessing like this.

//includes etc all above 
int main()
{
     test access; //create object
     if (bla bla == something)
     {
        access.testbool1 = true; //I am guessing this is the incorrect part?
     }
}

How would I change the syntax to access it by reference? as I am not actually using a function as per your example.
Last edited on
Are you sure that if (bla bla == something) is equating to true?
yes the conditions are met and the variable gets changed, but then if I access (exactly the same way) access.testbool1 from a different CPP later on in the code, it will have its false default value , or integers maintaining their declared values.
Last edited on