Help with String Problem

Homework assignment and I'm at my wits' end with this. I'm new to C++ and need a little help. I'm looking at creating a string, counting number of times a specific character appears (i.e. letter lowercase 'a') in the string, and then dividing character/s into length of string that will result in decimal form. Any help you can lend would be appreciated.

Basically output will read string sentence, number of times specific letter/s appears in sentence, and how many times it appears in sentence as a decimal.

#include <iostream>
#include <cstring>
using namespace std;

int main()

{
    string corporation("Amazon is an online corporation that has a vast 
    array of products and services that it sells.");
    double sentence = corporation.length();
    double percentage = 2.0/53.0; //I'm lost here for division aspect.
    cout << corporation << endl;
    cout << "The sentence is " << sentence << " characters long." << endl;
    cout << "a appears " << count(corporation.begin(), corporation.end(), 'a')  
    << " times, " << "which is " << percentage << endl;

return 0;
}

Thanks for any input you can provide. It is greatly appreciated.
You need to actually count things first. std::count works on std::string just fine:
http://www.cplusplus.com/reference/algorithm/count/
http://en.cppreference.com/w/cpp/algorithm/count
Last edited on
Thanks LB!!!
For your percentage you can have the count/length
FYI, the length() will give the length of the string including spaces, if you want to include spaces then just doing length() is fine. But if want just the characters without spaces, you can make a loop to cycle through the string with a counter that only increases if the character being read is not a space. Like this:
int characterCount(std::string in)
{
    int count = 0;
    for(unsigned int i = 0; i < in.size(); ++i)
    {
        if (!isspace(in[i]))
            ++count;
    }
    return count;
}