Sometimes getting segmentation fault

I so confused about SEGFAULT in my program. I am trying to implement scanf. So I am passing const char as the first parameter, than parse it for % entries and than use variables arguments to store value in it.
I am so confused about this.
I am not an expert in C an C++ programming. But I understand memory allocation and usage. Here is my code snippet. I am using getline passing to it NULL pointer to char and 0 as size. According to manual it should malloc memory by itself.
I think that is the bad idea that some func allocating memory. But let consider it is ok.
As this func has malloc memory , so I have to free it, but when I am trying to do this , I am getting segmentation fault , but If I leave it as it is , there is no memory leaks in program. I am using valgrind to check memory leaks.
It always crashes on printf ,but in debug mode is seems that variable is correct and consists string.
Alternatively, before calling getline(), *lineptr can contain a pointer to a malloc(3)-allocated buffer *n bytes in size. If the buffer is not large enough to hold the line, getline() resizes it with realloc(3), updating *lineptr and *n as necessary.

s = va_arg(argp, char *);
                if (lengthIsSet) {
                    size_t newLen ;
                    size_t readLen;
                    char *strInput = NULL;
                    length = atoi(lengthStr.c_str());
                    readLen = getline (&strInput,&newLen,inputSteam);
                   if (!strInput) {
                       break;
                   }                 
                   int sizeToCopy = (length<readLen)?length:readLen;
                   memcpy(s,strInput,sizeToCopy+1);
                   s[sizeToCopy] = '\0';
}

I have tried to initialize size_t newLen = 0; it seems to work know, but I don't thinks it causes the problem. Please help to solve this. I would be very grateful for any help and explanation.

Here is full function