Need help with Arrays

Hi I'm new to C++ and have a quick question about arrays. Why doesn't this function like my array?

I keep getting a "invalid types 'const int[int]' for array subscript" error and "expected primary-expression before ']' token"

#include "Header.h"

int main ()
{

const int AR_LIST[]       = {7, 12, 9, 18,};
	const int AR_SIZE         = 4;
	const string NAME_ARRAY[] = {"Jill", "Bob", "Greg", "Steven"};

//INPUT - Function that asks the user for input(see GetSalesInfo.cpp)

FindFirstNum(AR_LIST[], AR_SIZE, NAME_ARRAY[]);

LowestValArray(AR_LIST[], AR_SIZE, NAME_ARRAY[]);

return 0;
}

and this is my header file:

#ifndef HEADER_H_
#define HEADER_H_

//Pre-Processor Directives
#include <iostream>
#include <iomanip>
#include <string>
#include <cstdlib>
#include <time.h>

using namespace std;

void FindFirstNum(const int AR_LISTF, const int AR_SIZEF, const string NAME_ARRAYF);

int LowestValArray(const int AR_LISTF, const int AR_SIZEF, const string NAME_ARRAYF);

#endif /* HEADER_H_ */ 
FindFirstNum(AR_LIST[], AR_SIZE, NAME_ARRAY[]);
LowestValArray(AR_LIST[], AR_SIZE, NAME_ARRAY[]);

You can just write AR_LIST and NAME_ARRAY without the square brackets here. Use the subscript operator (suffice to say that's the fancy name for the square brackets) when you want to access a particular item in an array. ie AR_LIST is the whole array (it's not technically, but semantically you can think of it as the whole array) AR_LIST[5] is the sixth element (0 is the first) in the array.

void FindFirstNum(const int AR_LISTF, const int AR_SIZEF, const string NAME_ARRAYF);
int LowestValArray(const int AR_LISTF, const int AR_SIZEF, const string NAME_ARRAYF);

These should take pointers to const int const int *AR_LISTF for each of the array elements (this is because C-style arrays are really pointers underneath). You could also put const int AR_LISTF[] which means the same thing but you might consider clearer in intention.
Last edited on
Thank you for your response.