confused about syntax in void function

I'm fairly new to c++ and I'm confused about syntax in a void declaration from the cplusplus reference.
It's an example of the signal.h libraries.
/* signal example */
#include <stdio.h>      /* printf */
#include <signal.h>     /* signal, raise, sig_atomic_t */

sig_atomic_t signaled = 0;

void my_handler (int param)
{
  signaled = 1;
}

int main ()
{
  void (*prev_handler)(int);

prev_handler = signal (SIGINT, my_handler);

/* ... */
  raise(SIGINT);
  /* ... */

printf ("signaled is %d.\n",signaled);

return 0;
}

What is that void declaration? It doesn't appear to be a function or a variable. I figure it must be some odd method of calling prev_handler as a int casted void pointer however, I would think that if that was the case I could declare it like this and get the same result

void (int) *prev_handler
Kinda new myself, but this is what I can gather.

void (*prev_handler) (int); is what you have.
void (int) *prev_handler; does not work, stating that a type is not allowed (where int is).
void *prev_handler; is a valid statement, and in fact, it works fine.

What (int) is doing after is explicitly casting as int (I think). The parentheses need to include both the * symblol and the word prev_handler, or else you get an error saying that prev_handler must be a modifiable value.

void is a special type for pointers, which I found here: http://www.learncpp.com/cpp-tutorial/613-void-pointers/

The reason why we have it in this particular format is SIMPLY because that is the format of signal (SIGINT, my_handler);

If you hover your cursor over where it says "signal" in the code on the function call, then you will see its own format, which is basically a void pointer to a thing cast as an int. Hope I was helpful.
Last edited on
Line 14 is a function pointer. In this case, the signature of the function pointed to returns nothing (void) and accepts a single int.