Help With Figuring Out Why C++ Is Best Choice

I am relatively new to the programming world, and am looking for someone to help me understand why C++ would be the best language for the company I work for to use if they are trying to do the following:

-Communicate with Programmable logic controllers
-display this Industrial PC data in an appealing way to customers
-create functions that will allow a user to start/stop/restart an industrial PC using a push-button
-add new services to the website easily

I apologize if this seems very broad, but the company I am working for wants to know why C++ is a better option for building a better version of the website they currently have. The one we currently have is written in Java, and the code is quite messy.

I am a student intern, so this knowledge is beneficial to me in more than one way
Hiya,
I wouldn't use C++ or java to build a website, or add services to that website. nor would i chose either of those languages to display data 'in appealing ways' :)

the company I am working for wants to know why C++ is a better option

So who's told them C++ is a better option?
Last edited on
can you explain your reasoning??

They have a lot of programmers here who think C++ is the best option because it is WORA, and doesn't have any dependencies---if I'm correct.

Also, c++ is safe, and is efficient, and is cross platform.
'Communicate with Programmable logic controllers' - c++ would be good for this.

However:

html, php, javascript, css, asp mvc: these are the kinda technologies i'd consider when building a website.

what's wora? write once run anywhere? Surely java fits this bill too? in fact wasn't this coined by Sun?

The one we currently have is written in Java, and the code is quite messy.

It's possible to get messy c++ code as well you know. I can send you some of mine if you don't believe me :)