Structures, Vectors, Members oh my (STUCK)

I understand completely the idea of the Struct and Vector but when I put two and two together it always screws me over.

In this first portion of code, I want to use the global variable vector <cd> myCollection (which contains structs of members which are music related- group, label, album, year, price) to check to see if it matches with what the user is searching for in a temporary struct(artist_search.group).

I hope this all makes sense, I'm a beginner but this all just doesn't seem right the way I'm trying. If there's an easier way to take what the user is searching for and comparing it to a vector of structs and then returning all the info from a different vector of structs...

vector <cd> artist() 
{
    int numfound=0;
    vector <cd> artists_found; //final vector that will be returned with the found artist, and all of their other info aswell (may have more than one)
    cd artist_search; //temporary struct to get users input
	cout<<"\nWhat artist are you looking for?:  ";
	cin.ignore(80,'\n');
	getline(cin, artist_search.group); //collects users input, how could i put a vector here instead?

cout<<artist_search.group;

for(int i=0; i<myCollection.size(); i++)
    {
        if(myCollection[i].group == artist_search.group) //if the vector position group matches the struct group it does the following
        {
            artists_found[numfound].group=myColleciton[i].group;  //inserts the existing myCollection vector data into a new vector with only the searched artists info
            artists_found[numfound].album=myCollection[i].album;
            artists_found[numfound].label=myColleciton[i].label;
            artists_found[numfound].year=myColleciton[i].year;
            artists_found[numfound].price=myColleciton[i].price;
            numfound++;
            artists_found.resize(artists_found.size() +1);

}
    }
return artists_found;
}
Last edited on