Quick Question for C++ Homework Please Help :)

Hello! I apologize if I'm breaking any unspoken or spoken forum rules. I'm completely new to C++ and the forum scene in general. I would appreciate any assistance or direction that anyone can offer :)

The Problem:

Program Language: C++
Using: Visual studio 2010

Alright, So I am doing an exercise with loops given to me by my professor.

Basically, I am having trouble getting this little pattern to appear in my output display.

Ideally it looks like this.

.. *
.... *
......*

NOTE: Without the periods, I only did that because the forum messenger takes away any empty spaces.

Easy enough right? Well, They need to be individually placed. Now, every time they go through the loop, I need to Add two spaces to the next one. The trouble is I have no idea how to add those two spaces automatically using a loop. I know that this is insanely simple and the solution is probably staring me right in the face but I just can't see it. Any help is enormously appreciated!

Last edited on
Well you can simply have a string and add the spaces on every iteration of the loop, AFTER printing the string + '*'.

If you cant get it to work, please send the code so we can help further.
Hey, Shoyoninja, thanks a lot for replying to my problem!

To make things a little bit I don't know, maybe tricky is the word...

My professor doesn't allow us to utilize anything that we haven't studied in class.

He hasn't taught us about strings yet so I'm supposed to make due without.

I'll Type out the exact way he phrases the question and see if that helps.

(3) Make a diagnoal line of 'N' asterisks down the screen. For example, if 'N' is 4, then.

..*
....*
......*

-------------------------------------------------------------------------

So basically, I needs to create a "for" loop that will initially place one asterisk, go through the loop again, enter two spaces, enter the asterisk, go through the loop again, etc.