QString::toWCharArray error LNK2019

Hi!
I'm fairly new to programming in C++ (only done Java before). I try to read data from a *.dat file.
As this file is selcted by the user via a GUI(done with QT) there isn't one special file to test with.

I wrote the following method to read the data - there are 3 times 2 bytes at the beginning of each *.dat file which specify the amount of data given for x, y and z direction
- this is why I only try to read these 2 bytes for the beginning

void MainWindow::loadFileData(const QString &fileName){
ifstream is;
WCHAR * file;
fileName.toWCharArray(file); 
is.open (file, ios::binary );

int length=2;
char * sizeX = new char [length];
char * sizeY = new char [length];
char * sizeZ = new char [length];

is.read (sizeX,length);
is.read (sizeY,length);
is.read (sizeZ,length);
}

I did include:
#include <QtGui>
#include <iostream>
#include <fstream>
#include <QString>
#include <string>

#include "mainwindow.h"
#include "glwidgetmain.h"
#include "window.h"
#include "stdio.h"

when trying to build the project I receive the following error:

1>------ Build started: Project: Visualisierung, Configuration: Debug Win32 ------
1>Compiling...
1>mainwindow.cpp
1>c:\vislu\vis_proj\mainwindow.cpp(194) : warning C4700: uninitialized local variable 'file' used
1>Linking...
1>mainwindow.obj : error LNK2019: unresolved external symbol "__declspec(dllimport) public: int __thiscall QString::toWCharArray(wchar_t *)const " (__imp_?toWCharArray@QString@@QBEHPA_W@Z) referenced in function "private: void __thiscall MainWindow::loadFileData(class QString const &)" (?loadFileData@MainWindow@@AAEXABVQString@@@Z)
1>C:\vislu\vis_proj\Debug\Visualisierung.exe : fatal error LNK1120: 1 unresolved externals
1>Build log was saved at "file://c:\vislu\vis_proj\Debug\BuildLog.htm"
1>Visualisierung - 2 error(s), 1 warning(s)
========== Build: 0 succeeded, 1 failed, 0 up-to-date, 0 skipped ==========