Data files

Write a program that counts how many values are in a file.

I have a text file called "data5c.txt" which is basically contains a unknown number of random numbers. I have no idea on how data files work so can somebody please help me on how I can display- how many numbers there are in the file.
The only thing I know about data files is that I have to include <fstream> and that I have to declare my ifstream with whatever I want, so for example
ifstream fin; (input). I'm also very new to C++ so help would be greatly appreciated.
Last edited on
Read this tutorial to get a better understanding of this topic: http://www.cplusplus.com/doc/tutorial/files/

Basically you have to:
(1) Declare the file using ifstream.
(2) Open the file. Ideally you should also make sure the file is open using the if_open function.
(2) Read the file using a while loop with the "End of File" input control method.
(3) Cout what you've read using another loop

You'll understand all of this if you read the tutorial. If after reading the tutorial you still have questions, we'd be happy to help you.

Last edited on
Ok I believe I did this the correct way assuming my data5c is saved in the right place. Is this the correct setup for me to output the total numbers in my file. Also assuming this is the right setup how can I now output the total numbers in the file?

#include <iostream>
#include <fstream>
#include <string>

using namespace std;

int main()
{
  int n=0;
  double temp;
  ifstream fin;
  while (!fin.eof())
  {
      fin>>temp;
      n++;
  }
  fin.close();
  fin.open("data5c.txt");

}
This is not correct.

Firstly, the variable n is useless. You are using a while loop, hence an incrementing variable is unnecessary. Get rid of it completely.