Having trouble with my function call

closed account (yR9wb7Xj)
Why is my function not being called? This little program I created just for my own benefits to understand functions. What I've just learn today. Do not give me the solution right away, just give me a hint or a clue what I'm doing wrong. That way I can think it out and see how to solve it. Bare with me though I'm still new to C++.

#include<iostream>
using namespace std;

void input (){

string password = "stay strong";
	 string input;

cout << "Enter the password to gain access to this system." << endl;
	 getline(cin,input);

}

int main(){

input();

while (input!= password){
		 cout << "Access denied, please try again" << endl;

}
	 cout << "Access accepted, you have enter the system." << endl;

return 0;
}
Last edited on
I've tried to do this, thinking if that if the while is not the input function, it would give the following option and run inside the in loop multiple times until the person types in the correct password, but that did not work.
 while (!input()){

}

The input variable you check in the while-loop is not a global variable, meaning it can only be used within the function it was defined in. You need to check string inputs value inside your function.

Furthermore, I recommend naming your function and string differently. Name the function something like getInput();

EDIT:
Even more, I recommend making your function return a boolean, after checking the password return true/false accordingly, the in main process the return value with an if-statement.

if (getInput() == true)
{
    //Password Correct.
}
else
{
    //Wrong password.
}
Last edited on
line 11: input is a local variable. It goes out of scope when input() exits. BTW, it never a good idea to give a function and a variable the same name.