Member functions file scope error

I'm new to C++ from Java and I'm trying to port a program from Java into C++.

I have a class called Rect (a rectangle of course) and I have a static function attached to it for testing intersections. Now I tried the following:

static int Rect::intersects(Rect& a, Rect& b){
	return !(a.x > b.x+(b.width-1) || a.x+(a.width-1) < b.x || a.y > b.y+(b.height-1) || a.y+(a.height-1) < b.y);
}

And it threw the following error (in Visual Studio here folks):
1>Rect.cpp
1>c:\documents and settings\aaron\my documents\cpp\of_prerelease_v0.05_windows_vs_fat\of_prerelease_v0.05_windows_vs_fat\app\breakout\engine\rect.cpp(22) : error C2724: 'Rect::intersects' : 'static' should not be used on member functions defined at file scope

Does this mean I can't use the type Rect in any static function extending from Rect then? It's a tad annoying because I find it easier to read having a function test two members than one comparing itself to another, plus I'd rather not clutter up my scope and keep these random functions tied to the class they're about.
Remove static.
From what I see you don't need it here. In c++ static means 'create only 1 instance' or in the case of functions 'can handle static members and variables' - unless your Rect &a and b are static, there is no reason your function should be.
Last edited on
Yes but I'm used to using the static keyword to add a scope to a function. In the above instance, (unless I'm mistaken) if I lose the static keyword I have to create an instance of Rect to operate a function that applies to two other Rects. Which is a bit silly.