How do i make C++ ask a question

Hey, what is the code that makes C++ ask a question like, what country do you live in? and save the answer to a file. Or, if that is impossible, how would i make it say the answer you sent?

I'm new to c++, i know how to make it ask your name, but not a question that isn't your name. Please Help!

-Lefty
Here's an example piece of code I've put together that takes input from the user, outputs it back to them and then writes that response to a file.

#include <iostream>
#include <fstream>
#include <string>
using namespace std;

int main() {

string response; // a string that holds the response from the user

cout << "What country do you live in? "; // outputs the question -- can also be 
                                                 // changed to a different question

getline(cin, response); // takes input from the user and places it into the string

// you can output the response they gave, like so
    cout << "Your response was: " << response;

// to write the response to file, do this
    ofstream file("file.txt"); // opens the file called "file.txt" for outputting
    file << response; // write the response to the file
    file.close(); // close the file

cin.get();
    return 0;
}

Hope this helps!
Last edited on
would i make file.txt say
~/Desktop/Test2(c++ directory)/file.txt
or would i leave it normally

also, i made a file called file.txt and it didn't save to it. So, what am i doing wrong?

It is called file.txt and i made sure it was called file.txt and not just file

i am using MacOSX yoesmite
This is the contents of the file:
2.cpp
a.out (i run this)
file.txt (txt document)