a + b = A Really Wrong Number!! Why?

Hi there, I just started learning C++ as my first language and I don't understand why I'm having this problem. I know it's most likely a very very newbie question but I'd like to understand it before I move onto something new.

This code:
#include<iostream>

using namespace std;

int main()
{
    int a;
    int b;
    int sum = a + b;

cout << "Enter a number please: \n";
    cin >> a;

cout << "Enter a SECOND number please \n";
    cin >> b;

cout << "The calculation is: " << sum << endl;

return 0;

}

Gives me the answer -1534493305 if I add 2 + 2 together. Where as if instead I do this:

#include<iostream>

using namespace std;

int main()
{
    int a;
    int b;
    int sum;

cout << "Enter a number please: \n";
    cin >> a;

cout << "Enter a SECOND number please \n";
    cin >> b;

sum = a + b;
    cout << "The calculation is: " << sum << endl;

return 0;

}

It gives me the correct answer of 4. I'm not sure why. What's the computer doing that I don't know?

Thanks,
Scott

What's the computer doing that I don't know?

it's doing exactly what you've told it to do.

In the first piece of code you calculate sum BEFORE you've asked the user for values for a and b, so you're going to get a whacky result for sum.

In the second piece of code you (correctly) wait until you've asked the user for a and b and then calculate sum.

edit:
it is also very good practice to initialise all variables. For example:

int a = 0;
    int b = 0;
    int sum = 0;
Last edited on
Ahh I see. So the computer just works its way down the program in order. That makes sense. Thank you!

it is also very good practice to initialise all variables.

Why? I'm not sure what that does. Wouldn't the outcome be the same?
In this case maybe, although if you had initialised them you'd have got zero printed to the screen rather than -1534493305.

I'm not sure what that does.