Recovering from errors

Hi, I'm a beginner in programming and I'm studying the C++ programming language using the book : Programming principles and practice using C++ . I'm here today because I need help with a fragment of code in chapter 7, in this chapter the author shows to the reader how to complete a program (the authors uses a calculator program as example) and now he is trying to teach me how to recover from an error instead of just throwing an exception and ending a program using the try-catch block .

Here is the code wich I can't properly understand (I don't post all the code because what I don't understand is just a loop which uses exception)

#include "std_lib_facilites.h"

const string prompt = ">"; 
const string result = "="; 
const string quit = "q"; 

void calculate()
{
	 while (cin)
	 try {
 		cout << prompt; 
 		Token t = ts.get(); 
		while (t.kind == print) t = ts.get(); 
	        if (t.kind == quit) return; 
		ts.putback(t);
	       cout << result << expression() << '\n'; 
       }
	catch (exception& e) {
		cerr << e.what() << '\n'; 
	clean_up_mess(); 
	}
    }

int main()
try {
	calculate(); // execute the calculation loop
	keep_window_open(); // for some windows configuration
	return 0; 

}
catch (runtime_error& e) {
	cerr << e.what() << '\n'; 
	keep_window_open(); 
	return 1; 
}
catch (...) {
	cerr << "exception\n";
	keep_window_open(); 
	return 2; 
}

Why after the try-block catches an exception in the while loop of the calculate() function, instead of restarting the loop ? I thought that once catched an exception the program would be restarted from the main() function .
Last edited on
In Common Lisp, you have so called restarts and conditions; this is what you're thinking of and looking for.

Exceptions, however, are not working like this.

One of the reasons is that when exception is thrown, you leave the scope up to try/catch block, causing stack unwinding; so whatever was the reason of error, you probably lost your chance to fix it.