String Conversion Function Problem

Hi, I'm relatively new to C++. I was trying to make a header set of functions for easier access (this may have already been done before but I just decided to take a shot at it.)

I have this so far, but when I try to compile (using http://cpp.sh/) I get this error:

error: invalid conversion from 'std::string (*)() {aka std::basic_string<char> (*)()}' to 'char' [-fpermissive]

I am not at home currently so I do not have access to Visual Studio until it finishes installing, so I am using the online shell. I don't know if that has anything to do with this, but I assume it's probably not the shell itself causing the error. But if you don't recognize it, that's probably why. I know kind of why this is happening, but the thing is, I'm not trying to convert it to a char, I'm trying to convert it to a std::string.

Here's the program itself (has a main function for testing):

// Easy C++ functions set (Header)

// Standard/required includes (comment out if you are already including them in your main file)

#include <iostream>
#include <string>
#include <ctime>

// printOut(x) - prints x to current line

void printOut(std::string x)
{
        std::cout << x
}

// getLine - gets current line

std::string getLine()
{
    std::string x
        cin >> x
        return x
}

// randomInt(min, max) - generate random number from min to max

int randomInt(int min, int max)
{
        int x = rand()%(max-min+1)+min;
        return x;
}

// testing function

int main()
{
    std::string lol;
    int randy;

printOut("test \n");
        lol = getLine;
        printOut(lol);
        randy = randomInt(1, 10);
        printOut(randy);

return 0;
}

Thanks if you can help.
Your function printOut() requires a string as a parameter not an int, randy is an int not a string.
closed account (E0p9LyTq)
There are numerous errors with your code.

1. your getLine() function has no terminating semicolon on all three lines.