If Statement Help

Hey guys, complete noob here. I need help with figuring out how to get an if statement to check all values up to a specific number.

I have a Horizontal Coordinate and a Vertical Coordinate and I don't want players moving past either set values.

I understand the logic of what I need to do but I can't word it correctly. I'm wanting the player to be blocked from moving (in this case, left) at all positions that are furthest to the left of the screen. I know how to make this happen, but it's all very repetitive and doesn't allow me to change the value of the maximum horizontal value.

case 'a':
if (player_coord - 1 < 0  || player_coord - 1 == HORIZONTAL-1 || player_coord - 1 == HORIZONTAL*2-1 || player_coord - 1 == HORIZONTAL*3-1 || player_coord - 1 == HORIZONTAL*4-1)

I know I need something along the lines of:

case 'a':
if (player_coord - 1 < 0  || player_coord - 1 == HORIZONTAL*[i]-1, i++, i!=HORIZONTAL+1)

Or something like that. I used to be in a programming course and I'm just doing it as a hobby now, so don't think I'm just asking for code snippets or anything. I'm just not sure how to set this up in a way that works if I change the Horizontal value to something else, i.e. a larger map.

Thanks!
Last edited on
if (int i=0; player_coord - 1 < 0 || player_coord <= HORIZONTAL*i-1; i++)

Something like this? Doesn't wanna compile though. Also doesn't stop at the maximum Horizontal value.
Last edited on
I appreciate the response but I have a mapping system that works. The coordinates aren't the problem, the problem is the logic in the if-statement.
I think you really just have to put the if in a loop and store the result in a bool so that you can use ors and ands to combine them.
I'm wanting the player to be blocked from moving (in this case, left) at all positions that are furthest to the left of the screen.

I understand, but at the same time I don't - let me see if I got this right.