Just started learning C++ by myself and need a little help :P

Hello Folks ! I just started learning the c++ language a few days ago, and I wanted to make a little ''You are the Hero'' story to practice and learn stuff. But now, I have trouble when I ask the ''reader'' for input : like when he has to make a decision and the texts he will receive will change depending on that input. I tried using the ''if'' statement with some int A,B,C, etc but it didn't work as expected. I also tried with switch, and this is where im asking for some advices from you guys !

Like I said, I just started a few ago, so don't be too mean about my skills :P

Thanks for reading and helping !

// Histoire Test.cpp : Defines the entry point for the console application.
//

#include "stdafx.h"
#include <iostream>
#include <string>
#include "Histoire Test.h"

using namespace std;

void event1()
{
	int answer2;

cout << "1. Yes \n\n2. I don't think I've ever heard this name before \n\n3. Maybe.. Maybe not.. (Asshole)";
	cin >> answer2;
}

void intro()
{

int answer1;

cout << "You follow the man, even though you don't think it's a good idea.. \n\n A few minutes of walk in, he asks you :\n" << endl;
	cout << "(Barnaby) -So, where are you from young man? And what brings you here, \nin this dank forest?\n" << endl;
	cout << "1. Im from the north, I was raised by the Wolvesmen of Klooklookx. Im here to avenge my people's death.\n\n";
	cout << "2. I came from the south. I am a bounty hunter, looking for treasures and epic quests.\n\n";
	cout << "3. I came from the caravel across the Windy Ocean, West of here. I am here to do buisness.\n\n";
	cout << "4. Say nothing.\n\n";
	cin >> answer1;

switch (answer1)
	{
		{
		case1: cout << "(Barnaby) -Oh, so you're from the north... Well, let's try not to kill each other while we're still on the way, we have a long way to go before reaching town";
			break;
		}

if (answer1 == 2)
		{