Function is not updating data and program goes in an infinite loop

I am a newbie and quite new to programming. I am trying to update records in a binary file. I program on Turbo C++. The program does not update the records.
When I read from the file after updation, it displays the original records and goes in an infinite loop.

Below are some parts of my code.

// This is the Structure 'product' whose instances I have written to the file
struct product
{
   int code;
   char description[20];
   int stock;
};

// This is the function which updates the data
void update(fstream &file)
{
   product p;
   cout<<"\nENTER THE OLD PRODUCT CODE OF THE RECORD YOU WANT TO UPDATE\n";
   int c;
   cin>>c;

while(file.read((char *)&p,sizeof(p)))
      {	
	 if(p.code == c)
	 {
	   file.seekg(-sizeof(p),ios::cur);
	   clrscr();
	   cout<<"\nMATCH FOUND\n";
	   getch();
	   clrscr();
	   cout<<"\nENTER THE NEW DESCRIPTION\n";
	   gets(p.description);
	   cout<<"\nENTER THE NEW STOCK QUANTITY\n";
	   cin>>p.stock;
	   file.write((char *)&p,sizeof(p));
	 }
      }
}
Last edited on
The last version of Turbo C++ was from a decade ago, I strongly recommend you use a newer IDE and compiler. On Windows I recommend Visual Studio 2015 or later.

The way you are writing the file is wrong - you should never directly write the memory of a struct in a file because different compilers and even different settings in the same compiler can change the padding of the structure in incompatible ways. You need to use serialization instead - that means manually writing and reading the elements of the structure to guarantee they are handled properly. To avoid endianness issues, I recommend using a text-only format, not a binary format.
Last edited on