Strings, if, else, while loops, Roman Numerals...

I have to make a program that converts numbers into Roman Numerals, but I have to use strings, and while loops. I am very new to programming and I am not sure how to do this exactly. How do I actually use these strings in the program? This is what I have so far, but I don't think it is correct and I don't know how to continue or incorporate strings into my program. (idk if I even set them up correctly here). Any advice would be great! Thanks!

#include<iostream>
#include<climits>
#include<cmath>
#include<cctype>
#include<cstdlib>
#include<string>

using namespace std;

int main(void)

{
    string str1 = "I";
    string str1 = "V";
    string str1 = "X";
    string str1 = "L";
    string str1 = "C";
    string str1 = "D";
    string str1 = "M";
    unsigned short number;

char yes_no

cout << "\nWould you like to convert numbers into Roman Numerals?";
    cin >> yes_no;
    cin.ignore(INT_MAX, '\n');
    while ( toupper(yes_no) == 'Y' )

{

cout<< "\n\t Excelent! Let's get started!\n";

cout<< "\n\t Please enter your number:\n";

cin >>ws;
        if ( number >= 4000 || number <= 0 )
        {
            cout << "\nError.  Please enter a number greater than 0 and less than
                    4000.\n";

}
        else
        {
            cout << "Thank you.\n";
        }
        cin >> number;

This is very much the same kind of program as getting the number of quarters, dimes, nickels, and pennies in some change.

Each Roman letter has an associated numeric value.

I = 1
V = 5
X = 10
L = 50
C = 100
D = 500
M = 1000

For example, 24 = 0*1000 + 0*500 + 0*100 + 0*50 + 2*10 + 0*5 + 4*1.
Getting rid of zero terms, that's:

4*1 + 2*10

And in Roman numerals, it is:

XXIIII

You now have a valid Roman number. If you wish, you can now do some search and replace on the string:

DCCCC --> CM
CCCC --> CD
LXXXX --> XC
XXXX --> XL
VIIII --> IX
IIII --> IV