Help With a Project for School [Old School C++] [BRANCHING]

This is my first post on here, so let me start off by saying, I have only been doing this kind of stuff for a month, I am very new to coding and programming and would appreciate as much help as I can get. I

I have a project for school. It's called 'Messages', and the teacher says it's not supposed to be that hard, some people in class have gotten it but I would like some extra help with everything.

Here is what I have to do for the project;

"Write a program that prints one of three APPROPRIATE messages depending on whether the user types 1, 2 or 3."

I have a majority of the project done (or a least I think I do) but there are a few things I still need help with.

//Taylor Lynch
//Messages
//Print 3 Messages
//Period 5

#include <iostream.h>
#include <conio.h>
#include <dos.h>
#include <stdio.h>

main()
{

int x;
	textcolor(WHITE);
	cprintf("Enter either 1, 2 or 3: ");
	cin>>x;
	if(x>3)
	{
	cout<<”Number is not valid, Please try again”;
	getch();
	clrscr();
	cprintf(“New Number: “);
	cin>>x;
	}
	if(x<1)
	{
        cout<<”Number is not valid, Please try again”;
        getch();
 	clrscr();
        cprintf(“New Number: “);
	cin>>x;
	}
	if(x==1)
	{
	cout<<”What is a teacher without students?”;
	delay(100);
	cout<<” Happy.”
	}
	if(x==2)
	{
	cout<<”Student: Would you punish me for something I didn’t do?\n”;
	delay(200);
	cout<<”Teacher: Of course not.\n”;
	delay(200);
	cout<<”Student: Good, because I didn’t do my C++ assignment.\n”;
	}
	if(x==3)
	cout<<”Teacher: Where is your textbook?\n”;
	delay(200);
	cout<<”Student: It’s at my house.\n”;
	delay(200);
	cout<<”Teacher: Well, what is it doing there?\n”;
	delay(200);
	cout<<”Student: Having a better day than me.\n”;
	getch();
return 0;
}

(If I didn't enter the code correctly for the Forum, please also tell me how to do that, this is my first post

--------------------------------------------------