Finding a smallest positive number that is evenly divisible by all numbers from 1 to z.

Hello! I created this account exclusively to ask for help. I started learning C++ a few days ago and I have found a website (projecteuler.net) that gives questions about math and the most efficient way of finding out the answer is writing a program. I completed the first 3 problems, skipped the 4th and now I am attempting to solve the 5th. It asks for a smallest positive number that is evenly divisible by all numbers from 1 to 20 (I replaced that with z to give some flexibility to my program).

So anyway, this is the program I wrote to find out the number:

#include <iostream>
using namespace std;
int main()
{
    int x, y, i, z;
    cout << "Enter z:\n";
    cin >> z;
    for (x=1;;x++) //x is supposed to be the number I'm asked to find, this is setup to run forever until it finds it.
    {
        y = 0; //setting the number of times x mod i = 0 to 0.
        for (i=1;i=z;i++) //i is supposed to be the number I'm dividing x by, in the case of this particular question, 1 to 20.
        {
            if (x % i == 0) //checks if x mod i = 0, if so
            {
                y++; //adds a 1 to the counter.
            }
        }
        if (y == z) //if counter y is equal to z, the biggest divisor
        {
            cout << x << endl; //output the answer that is x to the console
            return 0; //and stop the program.
        }
    }
}

In my mind, this should work perfectly, but when I run it and enter the z variable (even if it is something extremely small, like 4), it doesn't output anything else, it just sits there. Could anyone point out my mistake? Thanks!
The second for loop is wrong, you are assigning not comparing this is a huge mistake as c++ compilers won't complain if you replaced a condition with assignment statement.

You need to understand for loops more, check the tutorial on this site.

As for the condition it should be for (i=1;i<=z;++i)