Pass by refference pointer to array

Hi guys. I'm studying pointers right now and had already figured out how to pass pointer by reference into the function void (T *&name), then I've tried to pass pointer to array by reference into the function, but I've failed. I browsed a lot but didn't find a hint, only how to pass array by reference void (T (&name)[size]). So my qustion is: how to pass pointer to array by reference into the function and if it's possible?
There are only two reasons for passing something by reference.
1. Speed (but passing by value can be just as fast with some compiler optimizations)
2. To modify the variable locally, but also keep those modifications for wherever the function was called.

I can justify wanting to modify the array contents (which the pointer already allows you to do), but why would you want to modify the pointer to an array?
I wrote an example for passing a pointer to an array by reference anyways.
http://cpp.sh/8lwg3
#include <iomanip>
#include <iostream>

void f(int* &xs) {
    xs = 0;
}

int main()
{
    int* array = new int[5];
    int* backup = array;
    std::cout << "Before f array: " << std::hex << array << std::endl;
    f(array);
    std::cout << "After f array: " << std::hex << array << std::endl;
    std::cout << "Luckily the backup is still: " << std::hex << backup << std::endl;
    std::cout << "Freeing memory using backup and exiting" << std::endl;
    delete[] backup;
    return 0;
}

Edit: I have also made an example that does not use the pointer syntax and instead uses the static syntax
http://cpp.sh/9p4d
#include <iostream>

void f(int xs[5]) {
    for(size_t i=0; i<5; ++i) {
        xs[i] += 5;
    }
}

int main()
{
    int xs[5];

xs[i] = i+1;
        std::cout << xs[i] << ' ';
    }
    std::cout << std::endl << "Adding 5..." << std::endl;
    f(xs);
        std::cout << xs[i] << ' ';
    }
    std::cout << std::endl;

return 0;
}