Random woes.

Hey guys! Its my first post (yay!). So I'm trying to create a simple text based game. In this game, you have a squad of policemen and you battle the mafia (meh). I want to generate a random number between a given set of numbers in a for loop, so that each time the loop works, a new number is generated. But I first tried to test out the random number generating function. It doesn't work. Help me with it. Here it is:
P.S. Im a total beginner relying on internet resources to learn C++ and have done everything that lies before arrays.

#include <iostream>
#include <cstdlib>
#include <ctime>
using namespace std;

int main ()
{
//This is what I tried to see if the algorithm worked
//Started right at the for loop

for (int x = 0, int y = y; x == 5; ++x) 
{srand (time (0));

//Random number between 50 and 100

int y = rand() (100 - 50) + 50;
cout << x << endl;
cout << y << endl;
}
return 0;
}
You are restarting the random sequence each time because you are calling srand inside the loop. srand should only be called once, at the start of the program (or at least before you start using rand()).
Also the syntax with your for loop is incorrect. A for loop is used for increments, meaning that you give it a certain starting condition, and it will step through each element of said starting condition until an end condition is met.

What you'd want to do, in this case would be something like
for( x = 0 && y = /*whatever you want*/ ; x < 5 ; ++x )

Also as @Peter87 mentioned, you only need to seed the rand() function once with time(0). Otherwise, you'd be calling the same number pulled from time(0) into your rand() function.