Why do we need to free memory?

So I'm working with SDL2 and being a good little programmer I make sure to delete any pointers, windows (SDL_DestroyWindow), and textures (SDL_DestroyTexture) that I created and used during the programs.

My question is why do we do this? Will the OS really hold onto them after they close program if we don't delete them before closing? Could you really crash a computer by running and closing a program over and over again that doesn't free it's allocated memory?

Like I said I always make sure to free this stuff up to maintain good programming habits but I still have this mindset that the OS will just go "oh that program is closed" and basically forget everything related to it and the memory will be freed up.
Last edited on
Will the OS really hold onto them after they close program if we don't delete them before closing?

No. The OS hands out memory to a process, and when the process ends, takes it all back again. Shouldn't matter what the process did with that memory or what state it left things in. The OS takes it back.

A principal problem with never freeing memory is running out of memory. If you never free the memory, but have a program running a long time, always creating new objects, you consume more and more and more until eventually you use all the memory easily available, and the OS either has to start using the hard drive as spare memory (and your program slows down and may become so slow it's unusable, and other programs also become painfully slow because they can't get any memory either, and chunks of their working memory has suddenly been moved to a hard drive, and the OS seems to even freeze if you're unlucky) or the OS might simply decide your program is out of control and kills it stone cold dead without warning.