Need general advice!

Hello cplusplus community!

First of all, I do not currently need any actual help with coding. I just need general advice of how to begin to work on an issue I have run into. Maybe you can help me out with some tips. :)

I have begun working on a C++ project in my free time using the QT IDE. I have heard a semester worth of lectures in C++ and I have watched a few QT tutorials to get accustomed to the immediate basics. In other words: I am still a bloody beginner.

My goal is to create a desktop application consisting of various windows functioning as small tools to do simple calculations or visual check lists.

I have devised this project up into small chunks to help me work towards concise goals. The first part will be a window allowing me to build rockets (the space flying sort) from stages. The user will be required to enter values such as mass and fuel and then select from a list of engines to be attached to the stage. The program will then do various calculations and display things such as burn time, effective impulse (delta-v) and generate a simple diagram of the entire rocket.

The part with the engines is what I am currently working on and I am unsure how to handle it. Each engine has characteristics such a name, a thrust, an isp, an mass and so on. I have chosen to create a class called "Engine" to help me store the data. Was this the correct decision? Are there maybe containers that can do the same job better in this case? Secondly, I want to load the 20 or so different engines from a list called "partdata.csv". This will happen on application start-up. If the file is not found, dummy data will be loaded instead. When the user is creating stages, he will be able to pick the desired Engine via a drop down menu.