Pointers?

I'm somewhat new to pointers, when I ran this program, I got an output where I'm confused. How do you get those long addresses for some of those? How would you know this if I didn't run this on compiler?

#include <iostream>
using namespace std;

int main() {

int x = 2;
	int *ptrX = &x;

int arrayX[3] = { 4, 6, 8 };
	int *ptrArrayX = arrayX;

cout << "a:" << &x << endl;
	cout << "b:" << x << endl;

cout << "c:" << &ptrX << endl;
	cout << "d:" << ptrX << endl;
	cout << "e:" << *ptrX << endl;

cout << "f:" << &arrayX << endl;
	cout << "g:" << arrayX << endl;
	cout << "h:" << *arrayX << endl;

cout << "i:" << &ptrArrayX << endl;
	cout << "j:" << ptrArrayX << endl;
	cout << "k:" << *ptrArrayX << endl;

system("pause");
	return 0;
}

Output:
a:0x7cd64ee2894c
b:2
c:0x7cd64ee28950
d:0x7cd64ee2894c
e:2
f:0x7cd64ee28960
g:0x7cd64ee28960
h:4
i:0x7cd64ee28958
j:0x7cd64ee28960
k:4

How do you it's 0*7 and where do you get the other stuff after that??
Last edited on
How do you get those long addresses for some of those?

Those long numbers represent the memory locations that the values have been placed into.

How would you know this if I didn't run this on compiler?

There is no way to know what they are going to be just by looking at the source code; their value depends on where in the actual memory those values get placed, which is a combination effect of the compiler and the operating system.
So if this was on an exam and I couldn't use a compiler, what would I put? and
Would I know that it is 0*7?
0x just means the number being shown to you is in hexadecimal format. It's just a number. 0x7cd64ee28960 is the decimal number 137259888314720.