Reflection or vector rotation problem...

Hi all, im new to c++.
My task is to make function that will rotate radius vector of incident photon when he interact with surface. Its total reflection problem, no transmision (so no refraction, just reflection).
Inputs are components "Ex" and "Ey" or radius vector "r". And outputs are new radius vector "r' " with new components "Ex' " and "Ey' ". Acctually its problem of rotating vector "r" around vector "n". Vector "n" is surface normal vector, since its surface along X axis (its horisontal) its components are (0,1).
I drow little picture of this problem. So inputs are components Ex and Ey of radius vector of photons, next surface normal vector n(0,1), and result should be components Ex' and Ey' of radius vector after reflection. in this case components along X axis will remain same, but Ey components will change.
Here is little picture of this problem:
https://root.cern.ch/phpBB3/download/file.php?id=12352&t=1
Last edited on
So far i had understand, there needs only a negation of the 'y' part of your vector?
namspace starke {

class Vector
{
private:
   double m_x;
   double m_y;

public:
   Vector( double x, double y)
   : m_x(x), m_y(y) {}
   double x() const { return m_x; }
   double y() const { return m_y; }
   void set( const Vector& v ) { m_x = v.x(); m_y = v.y(); }
   void setX( const double x) { m_x = x; }
   void setY( const double  y) { m_y = y; }
};

// changes the y value of its input vector
Vector& reflect_to_x_axis( Vector& v)
{
	v.setY( - v.y() );
	return v;
}

} // end of namespace starke 

*edited
Last edited on
Mr diddeldidum,
thank You for your response, but this look really complicated, at least for my knowledge of programming.
I can't understand what is happening here, except last line v.x = -v.x()...
althought last line is what I need...
There I made a mistake, sorry. I have this corrected now.
The '-' in line 22 just negates its value. Its like * -1