Convert System string to standard?

I'm having a bit of trouble here. I'm trying to get information from a text box, with which to put into a string which then will output to a file. The first part seems to have parsed correctly but at the = between shop to shop and the code that gets the text/combo box string there's an error:

"Operand types are std;;string = System::String ^"

Now, I have never used the system namespace before. How would I convert system::String to standard? If I try using string ^ ShopToShop it says "A handle to a non managed class is not allowed"

If it's any help, the program is being made via Visual Studio 2015 community + windowsforms

private: System::Void button1_Click(System::Object^  sender, System::EventArgs^  e) 
{
	using namespace std;

string ShopToShop;
	string CashCredit;
	string ItemSold;
	string Cost;
	string Date;

ShopToShop = comboBox1->SelectedItem->ToString();

ofstream output;
	output.open("Daily Totals");

}
};
}
Last edited on
I know how to use google, I was really looking for more of a why and a more detailed explanation than some of those links. What the actual difference is between a system string and a regular one, etc.
How would I convert system::String to standard?
I was really looking for more of a why

All I saw was "how", but as for "why"...
It looks like System::String was introduced in .NET framework 1.1 on 2003-04-24. And it looks like in 1985 std::string was introduced to C++ http://en.cppreference.com/w/cpp/language/history . So honestly, I am not really sure why. I could speculate some reasons for trying to not rely on the standard C++ library, but that is the best I can come up with.