Multiple defined variables including a header

I'm having some troubles with including headers in my project. While I'm not exactly new to programming, I am new to spanning my source files to better organize things. I've googled a bit and though I see examples of this, I can't find my error. I have a main.cpp file, a header, system.h, defining some variables and declaring some functions, and a system.cpp defining the functions that were declared in the header. I need to use the variables defined in system.h in system.cpp. I'm also including system.h in the main.cpp. I have guards on my header but I'm still having a clash and getting variable previously defined errors. What is the error here? How can I use the variables in system.h in system.cpp without a clash? do I need to declare them with extern and drop the #include "system.h" in system.cpp?

main.cpp
#include <iostream>
#include "system.h"

int main()
{
    //for system loop
    return 0;
}

system.h
#ifndef SYSTEM_H
#define SYSTEM_H
#include <vector>

//variables
std::vector<unsigned char> memory(4096);
unsigned char opcode;

//functions
void memClear();

#endif //SYSTEM_H 

system.cpp
#include <vector>
#include "system.h"

void memClear(){
    for(unsigned int i = 0; i < memory.size();++i)
        memory[i] = 0x00;
}
For any global variable in your header, you'll have to use the extern keyword, making sure to only declare it once in your header, and define it once in a source file.
Last edited on
So to avoid name collisions with the global variable, which ideally I'd like to avoid all together, should I wrap this up in a class? It seems overkill but it would stop collisions right? I can change the function

void clearMem();

to pass a reference of the vector memory like this

void clearMem(std::vector<unsigned char>&);

but that still doesn't solve the fact that I have global non-const(s) polluting my code.