How to detect prime numbers?

closed account (3vX4LyTq)
So, I'm trying to write a program where the user inputs an integer, and it determines if it is prime or composite. So far I have made it check if the number is even or odd. I have been trying to figure out how to do this for a while.

Any tips???

int main() {

int num = 0;

int check = 2;
bool prime = true;
cout << "Check if prime: ";
cin >> num;
///actual loop
    while(prime == true){
        if (num % check == 1) {
            cout << "Prime";
            break;
        }
        else {
            cout << "This number is not prime";
            prime = false;
        }
        check++;
    }
}

Last edited on
closed account (48T7M4Gy)
Search out (eg wikipedia) the Sieve of Eratosthenes.
Interesting read, but I don't really know how to implement it into my code. I'm pretty new at this.
closed account (48T7M4Gy)
I was new to it when I first saw it but to help you in practical terms I remember the Wikipedia article has pseudocode and an animation that shows how it works.

It not complicated or massive in lines and you might just be able to adapt it to what you already have. Your efforts so far aren't wasted and come back after looking at the pseudocode if you need help. Good luck with it now you're at stage II :)
#include<iostream>

using namespace std;

int main(){
    int n;
cout<<"Enter Number:- ";
cin>>n;
if(n==2||n==3){
    cout<<"Prime Number!";
}
else if(n==1)
    cout<<"Nor Prime nor Composite";
else if(n%2!=0 && n%3!=0 && n%5!=0 && n%7!=0){
    cout<<"Prime number!";
}
else
    cout<<"Composite";

return 0;
}

kind of stupid but it works :p