parameters; what they do and mean?

Hello,
I am new to c++ but I coded for a while in VS c#, so I am not a complete beginner. I have 37 years - not too young either.

I just installed and run Code:Blocks compiler & editor.
I started a win32 GUI project.
I started a tutorial on how to create a form and a button.
But I get an error at this line:
   if (LOWORD(WPARAM)== 1)  
//in the tutorial he actually uses wPARAM But here on my end I get autocorected.
//error:  expected primary-expression before ')'  <--How dare you?
//----
//and, if I use his exact code, I get this error: 
//'wPARAM' was not declared in this scope  
//-because is with a lower 'w'... Oo?

And in the tutorial, the same code is working just fine.

My question is: - How do I really understand what those parameters do and mean?
LOWORD?WPARAM? and the rest of them from that Form file that was created for me. Where to look to figure them out?

Thank you very much and excuse my rookiness.

Last edited on
You can check the docs:
https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/windows/desktop/ff468925(v=vs.85).aspx
(I think that's the right site! I don't do Windows stuff any more.)

WPARAM is a type alias, which means that in the context you've given the correct code must actually be wParam or wPARAM or something else -- an identifier declared elsewhere. Or a typo.

LOWORD is a macro which extracts the least-significant word from some double-word (32-bit) argument.
e.g., something like
#define LOWORD(x) (x & 0xFFFF)

Can you provide a link to that tutorial?
Last edited on
When I used [wParam] now, It worked !!!
Your suggestion and the tutorial guy suggestion worked !
(with some New additional bugs).

I was using WPARAM and wPARAM
But you and the tutorial guy used wParam
Rooookie big mistake for me. I am so ashamed...

Thank you - Now I figure it out!
---------
But...
My question is how do I specifically know what keyword must be used ? And where, and why :((((( - crying with desperation...