EXTREME BEGINNER, PROJECT HELP, STRUGGLING

Hey guys, I'm still very new to c++ so when receiving this project, I was pretty lost, the lab we did seem simple, but when he assign this project, i had no idea how to start. I understand the basic of it, but not alot to put it together when writting the program. So the assignment is to develop a manhunt simulator. The manhunt simulator will have two people. The investigator who will be demarked with an “I” and a target who will be demarked with a “T”. The target will not be directly visible on the map though.

https://flic.kr/p/SjfPCA << i took a picture of how he wanted the program to function, it seems simple at first but i was completely lost with loading a text file, the map, and finding the target

https://www.flickr.com/photos/31706893@N03/? << the rest of the screenshot I took is the input and output samples he provided which help me visually understand what he meant, but I still cant figure out how to write it, i know how to open file and create arrays, but putting it together is still tricky, especially moving the 'I' and turning the underscore to asterisk

I really appreciate any sort of help or tips to help me get started!
Hello betchapon,

Do not think about the whole program at once. Break down the instructions into parts s thy are written.

Here is an idea to get you started:

//  Include files as per instructions. All may not be needed in main.
#include <iostream>
#include <fstream>
#include <iomanip>
#include <cmath>
#include <cstdlib>
#include <string>

using namespace std;  // Not recomended, but if you have to.

char MainMenu();
char Menu_2();

int main()
{
	char menuChoice{ ' ' };

// clear screeen?
	menuChoice = MainMenu();
}

//  You could also put this in a separate file.
char MainMenu()
{
	char choice{ ' ' };

//print out menu

return choice;
}