Hey Folks. Just a quick question

This is total newb stuff so be gentle.

So I am supposed to use a "water pump" method of reading a text file. This parses character by character and dumps that into variable. I need that to be a string so I do the conversion. Then I need to count the number of characters to use for a different loop later on. I am having some issues related to the return of the string.

So within this requirement I am able to iterate through the file and gather a string. I am even able to do the string scrub and do a character count...However even though I defined my string outside of the while loop scope, when I test for the output outside of the loop, I get no value.

I really need this string value outside of this loop so I can maniplate the string as needed, but I HAVE to use cin.get and this while (cin.eof()) to go through each character. I can't change that part. I am going to sit here and fiddle with it anyway, but I have really been grinding on this and would appreciate any kind of insight!

Thanks dudes!

#include <cstdio>
#include <iostream>
#include <cstdlib>
#include <string>

using namespace std;

int main(int  argc, char *argv[], char **env)
{
    int i = 0;
    int n = 0;
    char str[n];
    int length = 0;
    string s = "";

while ( ! cin.eof() )
    {
              // int i = 0;
               str[n] = cin.get();
              // string s(str, 1);
              s = str[n];

if (!isalpha(str[n]))
                {

s.erase(0, 1);

}
                else
                {
                    // cout << s; //COURRECT OUT
                     i++;
                }

cout << s; //CORRECT OUT

}

cout << s;  // THIS GIVES NO VALUE. HOW DO I GET THE S STRING OUT OF THAT WHILE LOOP

return 0;

}
Last edited on
Just to say, you create an array with length zero over here:
int n = 0;
char str[n]

For your program, why not do something like this:
string str="";
while (!std::cin.eof())
{
char s = std::cin.get();
str+=s;
}