Learning C++. Advice on how to aproach.

Hello.
Few months ago I started learning C++(as first language). I was learning it by practicing in the console, as do most people probably start. After I thought I know some basic stuff and when I got bored from the black and while console I decidet do star learning SDL. So because I don't know what I don't know xD I decided to follow a book like its the holy bible xD.

I am discovering new methods and styles of oop, I am litteraly memorizing the stuff... ofcourse untill I understand why what I've learned is done the way it was, I wont proceed further in the book.

My concern is that the way I am curently learning wont train my problem solvin. What should I do? I think that if I finish the book I will have enough tools and knowledge to use and practice problem solving. Will that be the case? Should I continue learning the way I am?
Thanks in advance.

You need to solve algorithm and data related problems. Memorizing won't help you in the real world.

Try solving problems at codechef or hacker rank.
First I suggest you to Complete this Tutorial Read Every Things

https://www.tutorialspoint.com/cplusplus/

After that try to create some simple game such as Tic Tac Toe by yourself and try not to cheat.
And wrire Simple Sort function, try to de-bug it, implement Linked List, Stack, Queue, etc.

Try to reading Stack Overflow, http://www.cplusplus.com/forum/beginner .

feel free to any other questions.
Well once you know some basics, you should use that knowledge to build simple programs; to prove that you understand the components. I think working your way through the basics and then start using that knowledge to build projects.