Arrays in a function

Hello everyone.

I'm a newbie doing a distance schooling in basic C++ and I've hit a bit of a block with my last assignment.

I am required to write a program able to take the numbers from a 10 element array and work out the arithmetic average. The header must begin with: float medel(int v[], int n) .

But I find myself at a total loss for how to be able to assign the array elements using this header block and least of all how to declare these into int main() .

I apologize the question may come across as immensely newbish but I'm finding myself at a loss as nothing in the book appears to reference anything close to this issue and the teachers, though I have means to contact them online, don't typically respond in the due time for the assignment.

Anyone up to giving me some pointers?
I'd start off by reading 10 numbers from input and storing them in an array.
Once you can do that, start coding your medel function. Loop over all the values of the array, adding each number to a cumulative variable. Then just divide that by n to get the average. Beware of integer division.
Then you can use medel like so:

float avg = medel( arr, 10 );

Obviously you should make 10 a named constant as a good programming practice and prefer to use doubles over floats, as it's the default floating point type.
Last edited on
My biggest difficulty putting this thing together is that 'n' also needs to be the size of the array, which must contain 10 elements, I'm not sure how to intelligently incorporate this into the function and then be able to declare it in main.

I suppose declaring is something of a challenge to me still.
arrays have to be declared with a constant anyway.

it looks like this..

int main()
{
const int size = 10;
int n = size; //not needed here but you might need it later, consider if you wanted to enter 5 values instead, n might not match size in all cases.
int arr[size]; //optionally, = {0} if you like the initialize everything approach.