Learning curve & progress question

Hello,

I need feedback as to my progress as beginner and if i am correctly approaching learning process.

I am total novice. Before starting C++ i only touched some simple (very simple) web development and linux scripting (bash). C++ is first full-blown programming language i have ever tackled and it seems to stay with me, as i definitely enjoy those few hours a day (i keep at it for already a month) when i try to solve another exercise from book.

I am using Stroustup book, "Principles and Practice using C++", currently finishing 4th Chapter (half way thru exercises, drills already done, not skipping anything) and occasional googling. To keep this post short, here are my questions.

Book is very thorough at explaining all of the topics. I like how it's constructed (i.e dissecting all parts of the program line by line), however, it seems that it's not always a rule that what was presented in a chapter will fully cover what is need to finish exercises.

1. Is this book just demanding or i am not a careful reader &&/|| stupid?
2. Is it normal that sometimes i fell very overwhelmed when there is time to use knowledge from a book in exercises?

Which leads to another questions. I was able to finish fully on my own about 30-50% of all drills and exercises. There were maybe one or two exercises where i could not figure out any possible plan for writing code, but mostly for remaining 70-50% i was at least able to come up with some logic - "How would i write it" and then proceed to produce "some code". In such cases i needed to look into already solved problems (thanks github!) and then browse thru already working code (which did not always worked as asked in book). It was not mindless copying and pasting, more of a "reverse-engineering" and then proceeding to finish on my own (well, few times i needed to directly copy-paste, and there is one instance where i honestly could not figure out why it is suppose to be written like this).