Very simple beginner problem on finding area of circle

Hello, I am new to the forums and C++ in general which I started learning in January. I am on a problem that seems extremely simple to me, but I cannot understand what I am doing wrong. Clearly this is a homework question..and I am not asking for a direct answer, only a hint because I feel like i'm on the verge of finding answer but have searched the web to no avail.

Here are the instructions:
Write program that defines macro called AREA to calculate area of circle (PI * r * r). Macro should have 1 argument--the radius. Use preprocessor directive to define symbolic constant PI to use in the macro. Assign value to the radius in the main body of program and calculate area using the AREA macro, then output the area to screen. Output should resemble:

"The area of circle with radius 3.75 is: 44.18"

#include <iostream>
using namespace std;

#define AREA (PI, r) ((PI) * (r * r))
#define PI 3.14

int main ()
{

float a, r;
r = 5;
a = AREA (PI, r);

cout << "area of a circle with radius 5 = "<< a << endl;

system ("pause");

return 0;

}

ERROR MESSAGE: [ERROR] expression cannot be used as a fuction*
*Referring to ((PI) * (r*r))

*also I use the system ("pause"); because I am using DevC++ and sometimes will not output without this direction....

I do not quite understand what is meant by "macro should have one argument--the radius". Isn't by definition of macro defined as AREA distinguish it from "radius" completely?
C and C++ have a macro language attached. Macro languages just do text substitution. It is possible to just run the preprocessor to process this macro language, and see the output.

When this run over your program, this is the relevant part of what's produced. So the syntax error should not be obvious.
int main ()
{

float a, r;
r = 5;
a = (3.14, r) ((3.14) * (r * r)) (3.14, r);

system ("pause");

return 0;

}

The C and C++ language have functions that are more suitable for what you want to do.