Arrays and text files

I need to write a program that reads integer values from a text file and stores them in separate arrays. The contents of the text file is..
1,3,-5
4,-2,-1
(no spaces)

I need to then perform a dot product calculation on the contents of the text file.

The output should look like this...

Please enter the name of the file: inputs.txt
Array 1: 1,3,-5
Array 2: 4,-2,-1
The dot product is: 3

I'm still very new to coding in c++ so any help would be greatly appreciated.
I have started the basic skeleton such as the input command but the more technical parts have me stumped.

Thanks in advance :)
Last edited on
Have you read the numbers into arrays?
Can't figure that out. I've been searching through many sites and forums to see the theory and how it is applied but my lack of knowledge and understanding is making it difficult to do it. So no I havent been able to read the number into the array.
Do you know how to read the numbers into a single variable, printing that variable as you iterate through the file?

And do you know that reading a file is very similar from reading from the standard input?

I have an idea of hw to do it, but I can't get it to work.
I've managed the following code so far...

#include <iostream>
#include <fstream>
#include <cstdlib>

using namespace std;

int main()
{

int Array1 [] = {};
int Array2 [] = {};
int  dotProduct;
string file; //inputs.txt

cout<<"Please enter the name of the file: "<<file;
    cin>>file;

/*ifstream file ("inputs.txt");
    if (file.is_open())
    {
        int Array1 [3];

for (int i = 0; i < 3; ++i)
        {
            file>>Array1[i];
        }
    }

cout<<Array1<<endl;
     */
    return 0;
}

I'm not sure if I've named the arrays correctly but the above is what i've got so far
Last edited on
Please edit your post and add code tags (highlight the code and press the <> icon to add the tags.