Assignment question

Hey guys, this is my first time posting something on here and I could really use your help. I have a question for class and I have no idea where on earth to even start. That being said, I do not have a code yet. I was hoping you guys could help me, it would be greatly appreciated.

------Write a C++ program to setup and test a three level set of passwords. The first level is a password that contains at least one uppercase letter, one lowercase letter, at least one digit, and at least 6 letters. The second level is a sentence. The third level is a question-answer password.-------

This is my first class on programming and I have no idea. Please help me!!!!!
You can use isalpha, isdigit and length for the first part.

For the other two parts there's not a lot of information, so I'll assume you have to use getline(cin, password)
Hello alarue1s,

Since you have nothing to work with yet start off in small pieces. This is my first quick thoughts.
#include <iostream>
#include <string>
#include <cctype>

bool CheckPasswordL1(std::string str);

int main()
{
// ********** PART1 **********
	// Get level from user.
	// Get input from user

// ********** PART2 **********
	// Call function to check password.

return 0;
}

bool CheckPasswordL1(std::string str)
{

}

Start with part 1 and get it working then you can move on to part 2 then to part 3 and for and so on. This way the next part builds of the last.

Hope that helps,

Andy
@HandyAndy, isn't it better to pass the password string as reference to const to avoid unnecessary copies?

bool CheckPasswordL1(const std::string& str);
@boring,

Yes you are right. It is a new concept that I recently read about here, passing by reference, and I am not quite use to using it yet. Missed the "const", but I did say it was a quick thought.

Thanks for the catch.

Andy
Last edited on
@boring
@HandyAndy