i need a bit of help in one of my codes.

Hey i am new here and i am new to coding. My instructor gave me a question which i am close to cracking it i have a problem.
here is the question:Write a function that reads 10 numbers and finds the average of all the numbers that are greater
than 20 and less than or equal to 50. Return the average.

here is what i have so far-
#include<iostream>

using namespace std;

int printAvg(int,int);
int main()
{
int size=9;
int array[size];
int sum=0;
for(int i=0;i<=size;i++)

{
cout<<"Enter your values "<<i+1<<endl;
cin>>array[i];
sum=sum+array[i];
}

cout<<"Average=: "<<printAvg(sum,size);

return 0;
}
int printAvg(int sum,int size)
{
return sum/size;
}
getting there.
what you need is just a little something more. a counter to track how many values fit the criteria, and a condition to check the criteria... something like this:

if( value > 19 && value < 51)
{
sum += value;
counter ++;
}
and at the end, average is / counter, not size

Last edited on
Thank you very much jonnin i will give it a try and see if it works, i really appreciate it.
for average you probably want to cast one of them to a double or else you'd be doing integer division.

integer division:
int x=5, y=4;
int avg = x/y;  // 1 

division with casting one of numbers to a double:
int x=5, y=4;
double avg = (double)x/y;  // 1.25 

so perhaps also rename your method to double GetAverage(int x, int y) or similar (it doesn't actually print anything and should return a double)
Hello roro samuda,

PLEASE ALWAYS USE CODE TAGS (the <> formatting button) when posting code.
It makes it easier to read your code and also easier to respond to your post.
http://www.cplusplus.com/articles/jEywvCM9/
http://www.cplusplus.com/articles/z13hAqkS/
Hint: You can edit your post, highlight your code and press the <> formatting button.
You can use the preview button at the bottom to see how it looks.