Program that inputs 2 positive integers

I am new to c++/computer programming. I am able to output 2 positive integers and have it say invalid when a negative integers is entered. But I also need the terminal to ask the user to reenter a positive integer when a negative is entered.

int main() {

int number1, number2;
cout << "Please input two positive integers for number1 and number2: " << endl;
cin >> number1 >> number2;
if (number1 > 0 && number2 > 0) {
cout << "number1: " << number1 << ", " << "number2: " << number2 << endl;
}
else {
cout << "Error: Negative integer entered" << endl;
}

return 0;

}
perhaps do the repeated requests while either one or the number is ≤0
=)
Last edited on
You want to repeat something, aka loop: http://www.cplusplus.com/doc/tutorial/control/

You want to get two numbers. What if you shift from
GET num1 AND num2

into
GET num
num1 = num
GET num
num2 = num

Both approaches do yield two numbers.
Last edited on
Hello buckeye10,

PLEASE ALWAYS USE CODE TAGS (the <> formatting button) when posting code.
It makes it easier to read your code and also easier to respond to your post.
http://www.cplusplus.com/articles/jEywvCM9/
http://www.cplusplus.com/articles/z13hAqkS/
Hint: You can edit your post, highlight your code and press the <> formatting button.
You can use the preview button at the bottom to see how it looks.

You have a good start to your program. Along the lines of what icy1 said I think this will work better for you.

#include <iostream>
#include <limits>

int main()
{
	int number1{}, number2{};

std::cout << "Please input two positive integers for number1 and number2: " << std::endl;

std::cout << "\n Enter number 1: ";
	std::cin >> number1;

while (!std::cin || number1 < 0)
	{
		if (!std::cin)
		{
			std::cout << "\n Error: Invalid entry. Please enter an interger greater than 0: ";
			std::cin.clear();