Best C++ way of doing things?

closed account (EACR92yv)
Hi everyone!

I'm a C programmer that has been learning c++ for the past couple of days and I consistently encounter the same problem. Because of the interoperability with C code, I often find myself tempted to do things in a C way and to include C standard libraries, but this way I will not learn C++ correctly. I decided on doing a project from scratch (a terminal application that generates mazes for roguelikes) which is going to be written with only C++ functions and types. It turns out it is more difficult than I thought it would be and I wanted to ask for some help. My code feels clumsy and I feel like there's probably a much better way of doing things but I do not know it. I've included a short snippet which I feel is kind of spaghetti and I hope that someone here can tell me if something that I'm doing is not exactly in C++ best practices. The code reads files with possible room configurations. It's IO heavy and that's the area in which I'm worried I'm doing things wrong. Any comments on how to do this better in C++ will be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

#include <iostream>
#include <vector>
#include <string>
#include <fstream>
#include <sstream>

using namespace std;

class Room {
    public:
        Room();
        Room(int w, int h, vector<string> d) : width(w), height(h), data(d) {}
        int width;
        int height;
        vector<string> data;
};

vector<Room> getRoomLayouts(const string filename);

int main() {
    try {
        getRoomLayouts("rooms");
    } catch(const char* err) {
        cerr << err << endl;
        return EXIT_FAILURE;
    }
    return EXIT_SUCCESS;
}

vector<Room> getRoomLayouts(const string filename) {
    ifstream file;
    file.open(filename);
    vector<Room> rooms;
    string currentline = "";
    if(file.is_open()) {
        getline(file, currentline);
        if(currentline != "START") throw "Error: Not a rooms file.";
        while(currentline != "END") {