pointer question

I've been trying to learn c++ lately and its becoming a habit of me to validate pointers using these codes.

object* pobject = getobject( objectid );
  if ( pobject && pobject->isready() )
{
// do something
}

usually it should be written like this
  object* pobject = getobject( objectid );
  if ( pobject )
{
     if ( pobject->isready()
     {
       // do something
      }
}

but using the first code always works and i haven't had any crashes yet.

should i drop this habit or is it perfectly fine?
Last edited on
What do you mean by "verify pointers"?
pointer validity, im not sure if its the right way of calling it, im just a beginner
Well I don't really see what you mean by validity.
But I personally never had any problem with the use of pointers, and they are used a lot in C++.

I think it's safe to assume a correct use of pointers if:
*Your program works as intended
*You don't get compiling errors

As long as you understand how pointers work, or if you don't understand it fully, the compiler and the errors you'll get usually fill in the blank and let you know what's wrong.

I hope this answers your question and that it helps you in any way.

Regards,

Hugo.
Yes, that's fine.

What's happening is called "short-circuiting"; in A && B then B will only be evaluated if A is true. This is an optimization enforced by the language: if we knew that A was false, then we wouldn't need to evaluate B to know that the result of the entire expression was false. A similar thing happens with the || operator.

Your if (p && p->ready()) code is a common example of that at work, and is a recognisable idiom. You first evaluate the pointer, and only if the pointer is valid does the pointer get dereferenced. Make sure not to swap the operands, though; p->ready() && p will crash if p == nullptr.