New desperate programmer here

Hello c++ members. I am Zac and this is my first post here. I am brand new to c++ and have taken only 1 course in it. I am trying my hand at creating my own calculator type of program, but I cannot move on because I cannot figure this out. To keep it brief, I want to create a switch inside of an object that stores a char (y or n) inside of a variable and then after the object runs my main.cpp looks to see which char the person chose. I have tried this many ways, but I cannot figure it out. Thank you all in advance and I hope to learn a lot here so I can contribute as well.
#include <iostream>

using namespace std;

class welcome {
    public:
        char newHere (char makeAcc) {
            cin >> makeAcc;
            switch (makeAcc) {
                case 'y':
                    cout << "I am new here" << endl;
                    break;
                case 'n':
                    cout << "I am not new here" << endl;
                    break;
                default:
                    cout << "Oops! Please type y or n." << endl;
            }
        }
};

int main () {
    cout << "Hello Human" << endl;
    cout << "Are you new here? (y/n)" << endl;
    char newUser;
    welcome obj1;
    obj1.newHere(newUser);
    if (newUser == 'y') {
        cout << "Great, welcome!" << endl;
    }
}
Lets start with the warnings (you should always listen to them because they will give critical clues to many problems).
If you don't see warnings, try to google how to set it to the maximum level in your specific compiler.

In member function 'char welcome::newHere(char)': 
19:9: warning: no return statement in function returning non-void [-Wreturn-type] 

I think this is simple enough for you to understand, you should always call a return /*insert value here*/; inside your function because you defined your function to return something, if you don't want it to return anything, return replace the char in the function definition with a void.