Reading a text file to create a double vector

Hi everyone,
I'm a beginner in using C++. I would like to read in C++ 2015 a .txt file like this:

A 1.1
B 0.006
C 2.15
D 2.90

So I have names (characters or strings) in the first column and numbers in the second one.
I want to read only the second column and in particular to create double variables in order to obtain in C++ for example:

double a = 1.1;
double b = 0.006;
double c = 2.15;
double d = 2.90;

(Rows abovementioned are just a schematization about what I want)

I have difficulties because of the difference of the type of data in the second and first columns.
Have you any suggestion about a simple code that can do it?

I tried with the following one but it is wrong because C++ returns strings turned into double and not the numbers of the second column as I want.

#include <iostream>
#include <fstream>
#include <string.h>

using namespace std;
int main() {

double vector[8];
ifstream inFile;
inFile.open("written_file.xls");

int i = 0;

while (inFile.good()) {
inFile >> vector[i];
i++;

}

for (int i = 0; i<8; i++) {
cout << vector[i] << endl;

}

getchar();
return 0;

}

I hope in a useful help.
Thank you!
I have a suspicion that you are not stating what your assignment actually asks, but rather your mangled reading of it.

Amongst other things there is no such thing as C++15 and it is highly unlikely that your pure text data file will have an extension of .xls.

So, state your original assignment task, please.

What, if anything, do you want from the letters in the first column? You are not going to create program variables on the fly, although you could put them in, for example, char variables. Or you may not need them at all; who knows?

When someone uses the loose term "double vectors" when talking about C++ they are probably meaning
vector<double> varname;
In this instance this would probably be populated by repeated use of push_back(), rather than assuming a fixed size.