Code Analysis/Critique

Pages: 12
Hello,

First off I want to say that I have been coding on and off as a hobby, for a long time. I started with BASIC when I was a lot younger and I started learning C++ several years ago only to put it down for years. Now I'm trying again and my ultimate goal right now is to be able to make a video game. I want to start with clones of my favorite games and then move on to designing and building my own game. As such, I have subscribed to several different sources for learning C/C++, BASIC, C#, python and others but I'm trying to focus on one thing at a time and for now, that one thing is C++. I have found that for me, a book is better than a video for me to follow along and be able to produce something quickly, even if it's just small bits at a time. So I'm working my way through a book called Beginning C++ Through Game Programming, Third Edition (I am using resources that are either free or very cheap, aka sometimes outdated). Anyway, in this book I have reached chapter 5 and at the end of the chapter he asks us to re-write the hangman program from chapter 4 using functions. The code below is my solution to the problem, and I'm just wanting people with experience to look it over and tell me how I did and offer advice and feedback, since I'm doing this on my own and lack the benefit of an experienced instructor. I appreciate your time and consideration.

EDIT: I should mention that he specifically asked us to write two functions, one to get the player's guess and one to check it against the word to be guessed. The majority of the code was his, with the function design and implementation being my solution.

//============================================================================
// Name        : Hangman.cpp
// Author      : MrCluckyToYou
// Version     :
// Copyright   :
// Description : The classic game of Hangman
//============================================================================

#include <iostream>