What is the best IDE for a beginner?

I downloaded and installed Visual Studio and was really overwhelmed. Looked to be too much for me at my stage...

I was hoping to find a small simple IDE that will help with formatting / syntax help but isn't a massive application where I, at this moment, won't need all the extra....

Jeff W Waldrop

I am using Notepad++ to build code in....
https://www.onlinegdb.com/
You can try this.
I will take a look at it...
Hello Jeff Waldrop,

There are many IDEs available. The ones I know about are: "VS" (Visual Studio), CLion, CodeBlocks, CodeLite and DEV C++.

As with any of these it will take some time to learn how to set up the program and use it.

I have been using VS for about 2 years, (VS 2015 and VS 2017), and even today I do not use its full potential. Mostly just the basics.

I tried CLion recently to try to understand its file structure and how it works, but have not spent much time with it. I am not sure if there is a free version of this program.

CodeBlocks is quite popular. This is one I have not used yet.

CodeLite is used in a Umdey course I looked into and was said to be an easy and simple IDE to use. I could get use to this one.

DEV C++ as I have read and seen here this may not be the best choice, but it is not as involved as VS. I found that (out of the box) so to speak that the compiler was set to use the C++98 or 99 standards and had to be changed to use the C++11 standards. I have not used it that much so I am not sure if the IDE and compiler can go beyond C++11.

VS has its own compiler all the rest use the MinGW compiler, which is a good compiler. I remember with CodeLite the compiler is a separate download from the IDE, but not hard to work with. The IDE will need some setup to connect to the compiler and set the standards that it will use.

I am not one to promote Microsoft or VS, but there are many features that are very handy once you get use to them.