Adding to maps by a function

Hi! I am trying to build a function that will add a new course to a map. My map is supposed to have strings as both key and value. It is going to connect a subjectcode (key) to a subject (value). The task gives me this as a start.

To add a new course to the map I tried writing the code as downunder, but I don't know how to call it correctly in main and check if map now really contains my new (key, value) that I want to add to the map. Are the code even correctly written?

I am pretty new to references and maps, so please bare with me. Thanks a lot for the help.

//Given code from the task
  class CourseCatalog
{
   map<string, string> subjects;

public:

void addCourse(string subjectcode, string subjectname, map<string, string>& subjects);
    void getCourse();
    void removeCourse();
    void addExactCourses();

};

void CourseCatalog::addCourse(string subjectcode, string subjectname, map<string, string>& subjects)
{
    subjects.insert({subjectcode, subjectname});
}

void CourseCatalog::addExactCourses()
{
    for (int i = 0; i < 3; ++i)
    {
    cout << "Write a subjectcode you want to add: ";
    string subjectcode;
    cin >> subjectcode;
    cout << "Write the corresponding subjectname ";
    string subjectname;
    cin >> subjectname;

addCourse(subjectcode, subjectname, subjects);
    }

for (const auto& p : subjects)
    {
        cout << p.first << ":" << p.second << endl;
    }

}
Last edited on
Hello theredp,

First,
In your CourseCatalog class, the public function, void addCourse(), is a member function, which means it has access to your private subjects map variable. Therefore, you do not need to pass subjects as a parameter by reference to addCourse(). My assumption is that you want to call addCourse() to add a course to the private subjects map variable. Please tell me if I am incorrect in that assumption.

class CourseCatalog
{

public: