How to quicken a table look up?

Pages: 12
As I am a beginner I ask in the beginners forum. But the question might be something for experts.

The only reason (up to now) why I am engaged in C++ is to modify an existing program, a virtual HP41. I was not happy with the layout of the trace log. I managed to change it, but I also added some more labels (named entry points) known from firmware listings. V41.exe as published contains a list of almost 800 labels, mine nearly 3000 what slows down the trace option noticeable.

Question: How may I speed up the table lookup?
Currently for every CPU cycle of the virtual HP41 the complete list is scanned to see if the address has a label. For far jumps (XEQ and GTO) it is even scanned twice as the log will show the label of the destination.

Currently I have two options in mind,i) distribute the 3000 labels to several lists, for example 11 lists, get the PC (program pointer or address pointer) modulo 11 and scann only the corresponding list. Now every single list is less than 300, so the gain should be about 10 times faster. Instead of modulo 11 I could do modulo 16 what is the last nybble of the PC, but then the size of the labels' tables is not so equally in size.

Or ii) I keep the list of 3000 labels and spend 4k for a vector<bool> with a flag set for each label-tagged address. Then I have to scann the list only for those addresses. The 3000 labels derive from 12k OS and 8k HPIL-ROM, so the ratio untagged/tagged is 5.8:1 what is less than the 10x of option i) But! - maintaining the list is much simpler, if someone in future wants to add the labels of another address bound ROM.

More ideas? Other options? What's your proposal? Every hint is welcome.

M.

Edit: clarified one sentence
Last edited on
Can't you do a binary search of the list? And you could have the flags, too.

What exactly does a table entry look like?